Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 1, 2024

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chair Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee 2358-B Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We respectfully request that you invest in the nation's health, and support our nurses, nursing students, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs), by providing \$530 million for the Nursing Workforce Development Programs (Title VIII of the Public Health Service Act, administered by HRSA) in the Fiscal Year 2025 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies appropriations bill.

With more than four and a half million Registered Nurses (RNs), APRNs, and other nurses, including those with graduate degrees nationwide, the nursing profession makes up the largest sector of the health care workforce and are essential members of the health professions team. We have witnessed how vital our nation's nurses are to the health of all communities, particularly in rural and underserved areas. The RN and APRN pipelines rely on Title VIII program support to advance all aspects of the nursing workforce demand, including education, practice, recruitment, and retention. Title VIII programs bolster education at all levels, from entry-level preparation through graduate study. Further, these programs support academic institutions and the nurse faculty who prepare today's nursing students to be tomorrow's frontline providers.

It is critical that communities across the country have access to equitable, evidence-based, high quality, and timely care. Title VIII programs advance this endeavor by fostering training and employment opportunities to serve those most in need. For example, in Academic Year 2022-2023, the Title VIII Advanced Nursing Education programs supported more than 8,000 advanced practice nurses, many of whom were trained in primary care settings or medically underserved communities. The Nursing Workforce Diversity program's success provides another great example of the Title VIII program's value. This program has increased opportunities for individuals who are from underrepresented groups and from disadvantaged backgrounds, with more than 2,000 students supported in Academic Year 2022-2023.

These are just a few examples of how strong support and increased funding for our Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs directly contribute to the health care of our nation, especially in rural and underserved areas that need it most. We recognize that bold investment in the Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs translates into a strong investment in the nursing workforce, patient well-being, and the long-term sustainability of our nation's health care system. It is imperative that we support our current and future nursing workforce who continue to be on the frontlines and must be prepared for the health challenges of tomorrow.

We greatly appreciate your past support and continued commitment to these programs as you consider our request.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Bonamici Denamia

Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle

Member of Congress

O.CLK

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Bolden

Ared Golden Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Jen Member of Congress

viember of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

, MCBat

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

R. Meclice

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

efoher

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

he

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

ron's Matsui 0

Doris Matsui Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

ni Gaig Angie Craig

Member of Congress

noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred Member of Congress

ina Delate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Mall 9 2 Ø

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids

Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

lage Member of Congress

hall

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Wilson

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Cohen.

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

on Crow

Member of Congress

Jasto.

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

y d. Pario

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

John P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Roul

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

som

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Page 6

is to pos Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

my **P**anetta Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

'Stan<u>sbrire</u>

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

ton Konty

Katie Porter Member of Congress

e Jer

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Mark Jaban

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkam erez Member of Congress

Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

eating

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Mir 19

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Chell R

Chellie Pingree Member of Congress

Mafine Waters

Maxine Waters Member of Congress

P. Me

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

ni Sewell

Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Member of Congress

Ril Ascrill

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

André Carson Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

mssy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

<u>Manette Diaz Barras</u> Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

M

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Senoth Hadler

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

E Masurt

Stacey E. Plaskett Member of Congress

Maula Scanler

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

phana Hayco

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Abigarl Davis Spanberger

Member of Congress

Cardend on

Tony Cárdenas Member of Congress

Avide J. Sai

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Page 10

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Leinor

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

itscout

David Scott Member of Congress

iner Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress