Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

April 25, 2025

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chair Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee 2358-B Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro
Ranking Member
Labor, Health and Human Services,
Education, and Related Agencies Subcommittee
1036 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We respectfully request that you invest in the nation's health, and support our nurses, nursing students, and Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs), by providing \$530 million for the Nursing Workforce Development Programs (Title VIII of the Public Health Service Act, administered by HRSA) in the Fiscal Year 2026 Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies appropriations bill.

With more than four and a half million Registered Nurses (RNs), APRNs, and other nurses, including those with graduate degrees nationwide, the nursing profession makes up the largest sector of the health care workforce and are essential members of the health professions team. The RN and APRN pipelines rely on Title VIII program support to advance all aspects of the nursing workforce demand, including education, practice, recruitment, and retention. Title VIII programs bolster education at all levels, from entry-level preparation through graduate study. Further, these programs support academic institutions and the nurse faculty who prepare today's nursing students to be tomorrow's frontline providers.

It is critical that communities across the country have access to evidence-based, high quality, safe and timely care. Title VIII programs advance this endeavor by fostering training and employment opportunities to serve those most in need. For example, in Academic Year 2022-2023, the Title VIII Advanced Nursing Education programs supported more than 8,000 advanced practice nurses, many of whom were trained in primary care settings or medically underserved communities.

These are just a few examples of how strong support and increased funding for our Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs directly contribute to the health care of our nation. We recognize that bold investment in the Title VIII Nursing Workforce Development programs translates into a strong investment in the nursing workforce, patient well-being, and the long-term sustainability of our nation's health care system. It is imperative that we support our current and future nursing workforce who continue to be on the frontlines and must be prepared for the health challenges of tomorrow.

We greatly appreciate your past support and continued commitment to these programs as you consider our request.

Sincerely,

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Dave Min

Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett

Member of Congress

Doris Matsui

Member of Congress

Don's Matsui

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Panny d. Paris

Danny K. **Q**avis Member of Congress

Jenn fer Kiggans Member of Congress

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

ared Golden

Member of Congress

Golden

Sharice L. Davids

Member of Congress

Yassamin Ansari

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr.

10.CLL

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick
Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Seth Moulton

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal

Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore

Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress onathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Joe Courtney
Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress Terri A. Sewell Member of Congress

Im Sewell

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Serrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross

Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Maxine Waters

Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Nellie Pou Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Eleano H. Noton

Melanie Stansbury
Member of Congress

William R. Keating
Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress Ted W. Lien

Ted W. Lieu Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress

Dina Titus Member of Congress

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

Lucy MCBatt

Member of Congress

Sarah McBride Member of Congress

Sean Casten
Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell
Member of Congress

inniny Panetta Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jared Moslowitz Member of Congress

Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress Angie Craig
Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan
Member of Congress

Emily Randall Member of Congress

Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Brewder Bal

John B. Larson Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis Member of Congress

Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Juan Vargas Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell
Member of Congress

me Swedenell

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Member of Congress

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress

Lateefah Simon
Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Kinds J. Jany

Val Hoyle Member of Congress Andre Carson

Member of Congress

David Scott

Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D.

Member of Congress

Dan Goldman

Member of Congress

Kelly Modison

Member of Congress

Dans Dollate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Chellie Pingree

Chell R

Member of Congress

Dwight Evans

Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer

Member of Congress